It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 5:07 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Amiga
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 3:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Hello. I want a scanfixer/flickerdoubler for my A4000. What are my options?

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:47 am
Posts: 112
asking in an amiga related forum might be a good start :o)

_________________
http://hitmen.eu


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
Quote:
...scanfixer/flickerdoubler...

LoL :lol:

Quote:
asking in an amiga related forum might be a good start

Usually you'll just get an answer like "they're all sold out" or "they don't make them anymore" or an even more useless answer like "u just need to change your resolution to match your fancy VGA monitor".. ARRGH!

This IS a retrohacker forum and someone just might have actually buildt some at some point?

Since I have a PicassoIV which has nice loopthrough/flickerscanner/doublefixer buildt in, I never payed much attention to where you ACTUALLY can get some. I do however remember stubmbling upon some from time to time on eBay.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 3:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
Currently 4 available on eBay


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 860
I want (to build) one as well :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Devia wrote:
This IS a retrohacker forum and someone just might have actually buildt some at some point?


Tnx, dude. Checking eBay now. Actually I remember seeing a forum thread, probably on amiga.org, but I couldn't find it, so I thought someone here might know about the person, who was asking for (and received) interest in a new FF device. That would certainly be more value for my euro than some obscure IEC-bus diskette emulator.

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 3
http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online.de/a2320_aga.htm
http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online.de ... 20_aga.zip

You just need to find two Amber chips. Easier said than done perhaps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
FMan wrote:
Actually I remember seeing a forum thread, probably on amiga.org, but I couldn't find it, so I thought someone here might know about the person, who was asking for (and received) interest in a new FF device.

This thread perhaps? http://www.amiga.org/modules/news/artic ... oryid=7560


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Yeah, that's it! Tusend tack!! :D Not much details there, but a delivery notification and ordering information from March found. I sent him an email. Let's see if I get any details, that I can post here if someone wants.

Amiga is kinda back, with releases of AmigaOS 4 and MorphOS 2 just recently, but for me the Amiga still is my A3000 or A4000 with OS3.1 and 8 MB of memory. :) As long as neither of the still developed descendants of the real AmigaOS is available for a reasonable platform, AROS is the only usable option on a modern PC. :?

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 860
Amiga is definitly alive and I'd be happy if it would get some representation here on RH as well. OS4 is impressing and all but I prefer the oldschool flava' :) I recently got my hands on a A1200 with OS3.0. I have stuck a 20 GB disk in there but it turned out to be a real PITA to use big partitions.

Problem 1: After lots and lots of work I finally got to use 8 GB out of the 20 by replacing the filesystem and soft patching the ROM library. However I can not find a way to partition the disk beyond 8 GB without corrputing the disk and I've read quite a lot about it on the net but I just can't seem to figure it out.

Problem 2: is with the memory expansion. I can not find any single sided 4 MB DIMM's in my stash (double sided wont fit in the slots) so I've been figuring if it's possible to simply unsolder the chips on either side of a 8MB or 16MB DIMM and use it as a 4 MB DIMM.. Any idea?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:05 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Toronto, CANADA
RaveGuru wrote:
Problem 1: After lots and lots of work I finally got to use 8 GB out of the 20 by replacing the filesystem and soft patching the ROM library.

I don't know if OS 3.9 has the flava' you're looking for but it does have more modern IDE drivers which support larger drivers and larger partitions. It sounds like you've already figured out that FFS isn't up to the task. What filesystem did you switch to? I recommend the Smart FileSystem.

Quote:
Problem 2: is with the memory expansion. I can not find any single sided 4 MB DIMM's in my stash (double sided wont fit in the slots) so I've been figuring if it's possible to simply unsolder the chips on either side of a 8MB or 16MB DIMM and use it as a 4 MB DIMM.. Any idea?

I'm pretty sure that won't work. What kind of memory expander board do you have? I didn't realize there were any that required single-sided modules. My 1260 is fussy that way and it was a pain and a half to find modules that would fit. I may (it will require searching) have a spare 32MB single-sided module that I don't need. If I can find it you can have it.

_________________
Call me Golan; my parents did.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 8:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 860
gklinger wrote:
RaveGuru wrote:
Problem 1: After lots and lots of work I finally got to use 8 GB out of the 20 by replacing the filesystem and soft patching the ROM library.

I don't know if OS 3.9 has the flava' you're looking for but it does have more modern IDE drivers which support larger drivers and larger partitions. It sounds like you've already figured out that FFS isn't up to the task. What filesystem did you switch to? I recommend the Smart FileSystem.

Yes I'm using SFS now. It's been a while since I fooled around with it, but I think I need a OS3.5 or later HDToolbox for partitioning beyond 8GB. I've searched AmiNet for a fdisk equivalent but found none.


gklinger wrote:
Quote:
Problem 2: is with the memory expansion. I can not find any single sided 4 MB DIMM's in my stash (double sided wont fit in the slots) so I've been figuring if it's possible to simply unsolder the chips on either side of a 8MB or 16MB DIMM and use it as a 4 MB DIMM.. Any idea?

I'm pretty sure that won't work. What kind of memory expander board do you have? I didn't realize there were any that required single-sided modules. My 1260 is fussy that way and it was a pain and a half to find modules that would fit. I may (it will require searching) have a spare 32MB single-sided module that I don't need. If I can find it you can have it.

Thanks, but the expander can handle maximum 4MB per slot, hence I need 2 x 4MB single sided DIMMs... Stupid design! :evil:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:05 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Toronto, CANADA
RaveGuru wrote:
Yes I'm using SFS now. It's been a while since I fooled around with it, but I think I need a OS3.5 or later HDToolbox for partitioning beyond 8GB.

That's my understanding.

RaveGuru wrote:
Thanks, but the expander can handle maximum 4MB per slot, hence I need 2 x 4MB single sided DIMMs... Stupid design! :evil:

You've got a GVP, eh? I suspect upgrading to a Blizzard will save you a lot of hassle and you wouldn't be out of pocket much either.

_________________
Call me Golan; my parents did.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 860
gklinger wrote:
You've got a GVP, eh? I suspect upgrading to a Blizzard will save you a lot of hassle and you wouldn't be out of pocket much either.

It's one of the lesser known marks, I don't recall the name right now, but I'd love to lay my hands on a Blizzard 060 or heck... any Blizzard would do :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amiga
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 6:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Quote:
25.07.2008: new product: Indivision AGA

During the 80s, it was common use to build computers in a way that they can output their picture on a TV set. This was done in order to reduce the overall system cost for the user. TV sets work with lower frequencies compared to today's monitors, therefore the picture flickers. A flickerfixer converts the signal in a way that a modern VGA monitor or TFT-display can be used. The name flickerfixer was mainly created because the problem of a flickering picture is solved. We've already had a very successful product called Indivision in 2002. It was connected to the monitor output of the computer, but it has been sold out in 2006.

Flickerfixers are in high demand. One unit of our external flickerfixer Indivision has been sold on an internet auction platform for more than 900 US Dollars in march of this year. That's more than four times the last retail price! The popularity and stability of value of our products cannot be proved any better. We have already started development of a new flickerfixer in november 2007, which is finished now.

The first flickerfixers for the Amiga have already been available 17 years ago. Since that time, all flickerfixers - including ours - have been using the same principle: The picture frequency was doubled. This is not enough for most modern VGA monitors and TFT-displays, as the picture of a computer with PAL standard was only displayed at slightly less than 50Hz. Most monitors require 60Hz or more these days.

With Indivision AGA, we're striking a new path. As the name suggests, it's a flickerfixer that is very closely tied to the AGA chipset. This could only be realized by putting the flickerfixer inside of the computer. The product is mounted over the Video-Chip "Lisa". The VGA display is connected directly to the flickerfixer. Further connections are not necessary.

Listing all features of the flickerfixer would go beyond the scope of this news item. You can find the complete technical data in this PDF-overview. The outstanding features are:

* 24 Bit colour resolution in all screenmodes
* support for super hires modes
* Highgfx support up to 1024x768 pixels
* all screenmodes can be displayed at 60Hz or more
* no adjustments necessary

Two options have been added for retro-gaming enthousiasts that allow a step-by-step approximation to the display of an old TV set: Vertical syncrtonisation allows reducing the output frequency down to 49.9Hz, which will eliminate tearing-effects. In addition to that, a scanline-emulation can be switched on. This will emulate the dark lines between the scanlines of a TV screen.

Development and production of this extremely complex product is very expensive. Our trade partners, who have been serving the Amiga-market for many years, have made considerable financial contributions to the production. To account for that, Indivision AGA is exclusively available only from these resellers until january 1st, 2009: (alphabetical order)

* AmigaKit (England)
* GGS-Data (Sweden)
* Software Hut (USA)
* Vesalia (Germany)

Production has already started, the flickerfixer will presumably be shipped to our tradepartners during the first week of september. The suggested retail price is 129,- EUR including 19% VAT. Only a version for A1200 computers will be available at first. We're already working on a version for other Amigas with AGA chipset.
\o/

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group