It is currently Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:58 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Brisbane Australia
when i point my firefox web browser at http://www.c64web.com i get no right
hand side scroll bar but internet explorer does on the same page.
I am wondering if someone can help me with this i wish to get rid of
the scroll bar on the right hand side.
it would be just a little something in the html thats doing this.

have fun shane

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:10 pm
Posts: 43
Mate your table nesting is a bit screwy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Brisbane Australia
Stinky wrote:
Mate your table nesting is a bit screwy.


hmm that tells me a lot perhap you could edit the html and email me it
nested correctly.

i could then see the mistakes i have made.

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:10 pm
Posts: 43
zap wrote:
hmm that tells me a lot perhap you could edit the html and email me it
nested correctly.

i could then see the mistakes i have made.


Mate your the one who has to support it in the long run. :lol:

Install this Firefox plugin and take a look at the table structure. Check your TR TD nesting. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/60


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Brisbane Australia
Stinky wrote:
zap wrote:
hmm that tells me a lot perhap you could edit the html and email me it
nested correctly.

i could then see the mistakes i have made.


Mate your the one who has to support it in the long run. :lol:

Install this Firefox plugin and take a look at the table structure. Check your TR TD nesting. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/60


i installed the addon and validated the page.

Found the problems with the table nesting will make changes tommorow.

Thanks :)

New problem DOCTYPE i just read on the web how to build a webpage i have no idea what html type etc.

i am guessing HTML 2.

looking at the source can anyone give me a idea on what html version these statment i have used belong to and what i should be placing at the top of the webpage.

have fun shane

i am goggling as we speak hopefully i will come up with the same answer as you.

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:10 pm
Posts: 43
Using table for your layout, you would be best with 4.01 transitional. Then you can safely use a validator from the firefox developer toolbar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: c64web scrollbars
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Brisbane Australia
Stinky wrote:
Using table for your layout, you would be best with 4.01 transitional. Then you can safely use a validator from the firefox developer toolbar.


Thanks

have another look at what i have done.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16"?>

do i have this is the correct spot.

have fun shane

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Brisbane Australia
Check out http://www.c64web.com and have a look at the index.html file
Eric emailed me a replacement index.html file.
qoute
I grabbed a copy of your site's code and modified it to use CSS and
DIV tags instead of tables and made sure its HTML and CSS validated:
end quote.

This is a great help as i now have a working webpage written and formated correctly to study.

Thanks again ill work on convetering the other pages now. :)

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group