It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 4:51 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Brisbane Australia
What i would like to do is get a sd image together with the best of the best.

Basically all the best plugins - roms - utils - files etc that you can place on a sd card to run
with the mmc replay & mmc64.

Then as we find better plugins update it as our commie friends buy a MMC*** they
can just copy it to a SD card and off they go.

Anyone else think this would be a great idea. :D

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
Perhaps a good opportunity to write a MMC Replay New Users Guide as you embark on your journey? :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Has anyone noticed there are no plugins coming out for MMC Replay? Just as I suspected earlier: the no support policy is wreaking havoc.

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
Yeah, it's kind of weird. How are sales? I wonder if they sell a lot of MMC Replays. Perhaps ppl with MMC64 don't bother too much or perhaps presumed customers are more interested in other products (1541U?). Is it difficult to port MMC64 plugins?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
I cannot speculate on customer interest. Sales were good in the beginning to my understanding, but probably it has waned since. The biggest thing with "porting" a plugin from MMC64 to MMC Replay is of course adding support to FAT32, which is not a trivial task, and despite the pleas of many, even this device does not have an API for file I/O in the BIOS, so again everyone would have to make their own implementations, so I'm not surprised there aren't MMC Replay plugins coming out...

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
FMan wrote:
I cannot speculate on customer interest. Sales were good in the beginning to my understanding, but probably it has waned since. The biggest thing with "porting" a plugin from MMC64 to MMC Replay is of course adding support to FAT32, which is not a trivial task, and despite the pleas of many, even this device does not have an API for file I/O in the BIOS, so again everyone would have to make their own implementations, so I'm not surprised there aren't MMC Replay plugins coming out...

What? Not even a official library? That's a really tough move by Individual on behalf of the community, not to mention the customers... How about non-official support? I don't own MMC* so I've never learned about it, but I know somebody was doing a replacement ROM with (limited) support. If I understand it correctly problem was the small 8K ROM size. But what about ROM memory on the MMC Replay?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
FMan wrote:
adding support to FAT32, which is not a trivial task


FAT32 is simpler than FAT16, and if you already have FAT16 code it's a matter of minutes to convert it to FAT32.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Really? Well, then I guess developers just aren't interested in producing for MMC Replay.

RaveGuru wrote:
But what about ROM memory on the MMC Replay?

I think Jens said Oliver is actually working on it, so maybe some day, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:47 am
Posts: 112
Quote:
Really? Well, then I guess developers just aren't interested in producing for MMC Replay.


most of the time developers aren't interisted in developing for users who keep trolling about how shit everything they develop is =P

(btw, fat32 is not a requirement for mmc replay plugins. all existing plugins, except the t64 one and some other i forgot, work just fine on the mmcreplay)

and yes, the bios is about to get completely rewritten.

_________________
http://hitmen.eu


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Cool. So there is a future. :) But my card is FAT32-formatted. I cannot use a plugin that only supports FAT16... And I have no idea what "trolling" you're talking about. :o

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:47 am
Posts: 112
why would you format your card fat32 when the software you want to use doesn't support that? *shrug*

_________________
http://hitmen.eu


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:15 pm
Posts: 5
What?! Aren't MMC64 and MMC Replay compatible with each other?? That explains why my SD card works on a MMC64 but not on a MMC Replay. Directory browser works but nothing can be loaded. :oops:

Maybe i should search for a correct plugins then? Right??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
MMC64 cards should work just fine on MMC Replay.

groepaz wrote:
why would you format your card fat32 when the software you want to use doesn't support that? *shrug*

Because I wanted to make use of the bigger card and with FAT16 only the sectors would have gotten bigger and I expected plugin authors to immediately come out with MMC Replay versions of everything. Mostly I am unhappy that TNT didn't make one of his excellent browser!

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group