It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:37 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
512 kB Flash ROM
128 kB RAM
CS8900A Ethernet Controller
MicroSD slot
All in one board:

Image

More pics in the gallery:

http://laredo.globalpc.net/c64/gallery/ ... emId=14413

DW will be showing his prototypes at ECCC this year.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:04 am
Posts: 116
Location: Germany / 88471
hey - what the ****
what the hell is this beast?! i want to have, have , have it !!! ;) :)
please geive some more info!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
I think you'll have to wait until after the ECCC expo I'm afraid :) This is just a teaser post...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
this one certainly has potential :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
GODDAMMIT!! no hole in the middle for case mounting!?!? wtf?

Looks interresting though.. let's just hope the TIMING is better that that of the MMC64 and RetroReplay so it's will suffer less problems with the SX and C128D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 4:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
Very very nice! Looking forward to seeing it in action next week.

I agree with Devia, it definitely needs a hole in the middle for putting in a cartridge case!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
Can someone confirm what the exact location and dimension of the hole should be? I measured 40 mm from the edge connector to the edge of the hole, 5 mm across, and smack dab in the middle horizontally (roughly 26.3 mm to each side).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 8:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:05 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Any word on what Adrian's plan is for this thing? Is he going to make and sell them or is Joe going to handle that or is he going to open source the plans or what?

_________________
Call me Golan; my parents did.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
The Style guys have talked to Palumbo, but I don't know if they came to an agreement.

A lot of people have asked what it runs: it's currently compatible with the Super Snapshot v5. It is to NTSC sceners what the Action Replay is to PAL sceners :) It has a fastloader, a really good freezer (with ram, like AR), and a very capable monitor (including drive and REU support). The CPLD currently maps the 8900 registers the same way the RR-Net does - you can see GuruTerm running in the last photo. dW is still working on the SD slot implementation. If there is space in the CPLD he'll add a Retro Replay compatible mode as well, allowing you to flash AR/TFR/RR roms. If not it probably wouldn't be impossible to patch AR6 to run on the SS hw.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
MagerValp wrote:
Can someone confirm what the exact location and dimension of the hole should be? I measured 40 mm from the edge connector to the edge of the hole, 5 mm across, and smack dab in the middle horizontally (roughly 26.3 mm to each side).


There's an EAGLE PCB template for Commodore carts here:

http://www.orrtech.net/pcb/SolokianCartTemplate.zip

Thread:
http://jledger.proboards19.com/index.cg ... 1178505160


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
Schema wrote:
There's an EAGLE PCB template for Commodore carts here:

http://www.orrtech.net/pcb/SolokianCartTemplate.zip


Nice, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 1
It needs mounting holes to cover it up with a case. There's nothing I hate more than bare boards hanging off a machine.

Why Micro SD? No need for it to be smaller than regular SD cards, which are now cheap.

Other than that, looks nice. I'd buy one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
FireflyST wrote:
Why Micro SD? No need for it to be smaller than regular SD cards, which are now cheap.


Uhm.. microSD's are cheaper than anything else now... 1GB for ~ 13 EUR in my local ALDI store!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
FireflyST wrote:
Why Micro SD? No need for it to be smaller than regular SD cards, which are now cheap.


Because board space is limited and a larger slot doesn't fit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 2:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Posts: 3
Great! A standard SD slot would make it much more useful for me though (I know of at least one person thinking the same). Maybe it can be put on the back of the PCB? Also make sure it isn't buggy like MMC64 (Sprites, Init).

Maybe microSD is getting cheaper, but these cards are just *too* tiny and fragile. I don't like to handle them. They're not designed for frequent plug-in/out either. And I'd need to buy them.

@Devia
I've seen standard SD 1GB for 6 EUR a few months ago. They're still a lot cheaper. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group