It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:51 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:05 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Toronto, CANADA
mareLock wrote:
my thoughts is that i kan use an old amiga 500 drive to put in it... but i dont know if it will work but i hope so ...

It should. I've taken working 3.5" drive mechanisms from the 500s and put them in 1581 cases and they both work and fit nicely with the 1581 faceplate. I'm sure that it will work out for you. It's the 3.5" drive mechanisms from Amiga 2000s that work but don't fit and that's an awful pain to work around.

_________________
Call me Golan; my parents did.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:56 pm
Posts: 73
thanks ...
that makes it worth all :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:56 pm
Posts: 73
the drive has arived :D
it's sooo sweet :D

but only one problem ... the power connection pinns are placed in difrent places than to the other 64 stuff i got .... i need to findout how to change the places of the pinns from an swedish-c64 powersuply to fit this one...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 10:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
Glad that everything got sorted out :)

@marelock: Yes you can use a A500 drive!

And yes, £430 for a -never mind how mint it is- 1581 is really nuts IMHO :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:56 pm
Posts: 73
now i got it all set up .... installed the drive from amiga 1010 external 3,5 ... fitts nice and all ... i took a chance and just moved one of the pins in one power suply and it seems to work ..

just that the motor in the drive is spinning all the time but it can be the drive it self :D
I have never used a diskdrive and would love if some one could tell me if i do right... like this
-starts the c64 and drive connected.-
Load"$",8
(think that is for load all)i wanted just to load and then -List- to se that its working

and 430£ is mad :D when i saw it i was thinking that they have just missed to put the , on 43£


Last edited by mareLock on Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:56 pm
Posts: 73
hmm maby the drive i put in it is fucked ...

?device not present error


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:56 pm
Posts: 73
going for a new one ..... :D
this time one that says -tested and works fine :D

not one -tested and i think it works

basterd no more money have to wait and wait .....
and more bad is that it means no more beer :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
marelock; the power supply for the c64 is not same as for the 1541-II and 1581 drives. The c64 psu is unregulated AC 5v/12v and the drive psu's are regulated DC 9v/5v IIRC. Hence the different pins!! The psu for 1541-II and 1581 are same though. But you probably ruined your drive already if you hooked it to a c64 psu! Sorry mate :|


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:56 pm
Posts: 73
lol :D

i'm just soooo glad now any way ... have bought one new drive OC-118N and it works butifull

all the problems with lunix not loading the shell and contiki not finding the internet and loading some games are gone ... contiki software works nice all is like heven here now :D

and thanks raveguru
i will put the 1581 disk on ice for a while now :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:00 pm
Posts: 6
RaveGuru wrote:
the power supply for the c64 is not same as for the 1541-II and 1581 drives. The c64 psu is unregulated AC 5v/12v and the drive psu's are regulated DC 9v/5v IIRC. Hence the different pins!! The psu for 1541-II and 1581 are same though.


C64 power supply: 5V DC / 9V AC
Drive power supplies: 5V DC / 12V DC

All DC voltages are regulated AFAIK.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
Ah yes! I mixed it up a bit there but the result is pretty much the same in this case I suppose: Crash and burn! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: leif blomqvist
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
Plugging a C64 power supply into a 1581 (or 1541-II) is likely to destroy both the drive, and the power supply. Bending the pins so it fits anyway is not a very clever thing to do...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group