It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 3:18 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
Added two DIP switches to the case, with leads to the jumpers. The first puts the RR into flash mode (where I keep it most of the time), and the second switches between the Cyberpunx ROM and the FInal Replay ROM.


Attachments:
rr-mod.jpg [88.26 KiB]
Downloaded 3022 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:21 am
Posts: 34
Nice. :)

CU
Kratznagel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 865
Looking good! This is exactly what I've been wanting to do for some time now :P What did you use to cut the holes for the buttons and RR-net?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
Just a hacksaw 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:04 am
Posts: 116
Location: Germany / 88471
wow, that looks good!!!
cutting the holes is not the problem, but how do you connect the DIP switches inside?? (xcuse me, i am not that much in "hardware", means: never soldered a DIP-switch onto something....)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
I ran small wires (30 Gauge) from the pins of the jumpers on the cartridge, to the pins on the DIP switches, and soldered them.

So closing the DIP switch shorts the pins, just as though you had used a jumper.

Soldering on my Retro Replay was a bit scary :shock: But it worked OK!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
Well, I used some small sliding switches of some kind:

Image


The grey stuff on the bottom side of the RR-Net is a rubber "foot" which stabilizes the RR-Net and also functions as a sort of a heat-spreader for the CS9800A chip.
The switches are connected to the jumpers with some wrap-wire and hidden away on the bottom side. The metal part of the jumper casings has been removed and the jumper casings have then been placed over the pins to cover the wire. It looks as if both jumpers are mounted.

Oh and since it's wrap-wire, it's of course wrapped on, i.e. no soldering at all ;-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:10 am
Posts: 177
Ok, here is mine together with MMC64:
Image

Cheap Dremel clone to cut IS case for RR and SS, switch wires soldered directly to flash/bank jumper pins. If I was to do it again, I would unsolder jumper pins and solder wires in the holes.

AR6 case cut for MMC64 with hacksaw, good enough for my purposes. If I had got the case earlier I would have used it for RR.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 12:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 865
Wow! I'm really impressed. Looks all professional. Got me inspired to do something about my empty case I bought on LCP 2004 and just has been laying around since then :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 3:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 346
Location: Brisbane Australia
This is how the RRNet was placed inside the c64 to stop it from being ripped off the RetroReplay board this unit will always be c64web.com
webserver making this c64 nice and tidy on bench.

http://www.cbm8bit.com/pics/c64mod2.jpg
http://www.cbm8bit.com/pics/c64mod1.jpg
http://www.cbm8bit.com/pics/c64mod4.jpg

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Last edited by zap on Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:52 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 10:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:04 am
Posts: 116
Location: Germany / 88471
wow. this looks really amazing! i dammit that i am such a fool when coming to hardware/ modding etc...
having all that stuff INSIDE the c64 is prefect.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 5:37 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 865
THat's really nice and cleverly done.

What's up with the puzzle? :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:30 am
Posts: 140
Finally got around to adding a flash mode switch and a label to mine:

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 865
Ah very nice and clean.
Big ups for the minimalistic label!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:49 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Amsterdam
here's mine, inside the '64...:

http://zomgwtfbbq.info/knoeki_room/dsc00626.jpg

(( URL'd because of size ))


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group