It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:21 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:11 am
Posts: 27
I've been working on a Retro Replay version of Turbo Assembler (plain) which runs from RR-Rom and utilizes RR-Ram to store sources, allowing the user to use all c64 memory for programs.

I've now come to the point where it works so well that it can be used, but it's still too early to make a public release. Hence I'd like to know if there are some people willing to betatest this? (I tell you, it's pretty exciting to run some demos, then reset and press T to enter tass and find that your sources are still there :)

I've added this tass to the AR6 roms, but it should be easy to adapt it to other roms as well. Source code will be available later.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 866
WOW! I've been wanting this since the first time I heard of R.E.U. Bringing this to R.R. is more than I ever hoped for.

@SDN: I strongly suggest you simply post it / upload it here in this thread so people can give feedback easily. It has been proven to work in the past (DFI-loader, D64-plugin, GuruTerm, etc) :D

I for one will try it out ASA I get my gear and time together ( :roll: )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:04 am
Posts: 116
Location: Germany / 88471
thumbs up in advance! i always waited for a TMP version for RetroReplay-RAM but i am excited to see your version! of course i will do some (beta)testing!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:11 am
Posts: 27
Okay, I'll throw a version for you tomorrow night :) I'm hoping to release a "proper" v1 soon so that's why I don't want some crappy beta to be spread publicly yet...

I still need to change it so that certain parts of the c64 memory isn't overwritten (I'll try to do that tomorrow), that might save you from some head aches :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:13 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Hack'n'Trade
Yoho!

Did you get anywhere with this? I am certainly interested in trying it out in that case.

(I dropped my laptop on the ground (by accident, yes) last week, so a non-cross-assembler is a what I need right now... and this version sounds like the one I'd like to use in that case.. eh.. hehe..)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:11 am
Posts: 27
Frantic: cool, you are the first one to actually betatest this (except for me of course :) ) It seems I will release an official version quite soon anyway. I hoped to fix the savefiles so that they are compatible with ordinary tass files before releasing this but that will be for later.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:11 am
Posts: 27
First version is out! Get it here:

http://www.dekadence64.org/tar_v1.zip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:50 pm
Posts: 26
Cool! The filename seems to imply this is PAL only, is that the case? Any thoughts on an NTSC release?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:11 am
Posts: 27
bbraun wrote:
Cool! The filename seems to imply this is PAL only, is that the case? Any thoughts on an NTSC release?


Yes, it's PAL only :( I'll make custom versions if people request them... It shouldn't be too much work to adapt this TASS version to different roms, but I suspect that not that many coders use real c64s for coding, so I don't want to spend time doing versions no one will use :)

So are there more NTSC users there who might find this useful?

(Of course one problem with doing an NTSC version is that I don't have an NTSC computer, I can always use an emulator but that's always a bit dangerous)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:55 am
Posts: 23
Location: Seattle, USA
if you do make an NTSC version I would be happy to help test it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:11 am
Posts: 27
TheBeck wrote:
if you do make an NTSC version I would be happy to help test it


Thanks! I will test how much work it is to adapt it to ntsc.It might be quite easy... (When I find the time to do that...)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group