It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:57 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 9:31 am
Posts: 12
I was wondering how much RAM it is feasible to "steal" from Retro Replay (with fastload/fastsave in use, but nothing else), or from IDE64 (is 100% of the memory normally used for buffers?)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 6:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 860
Good question. I'm not aware if the fastloader in the Cyberpunx ROM or the Final Replay ROM actually use the RR-RAM. That should be fairly easy to find out though by comparing the memory before/after a fast load event.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:10 am
Posts: 177
RR - depends on which ROM is used

IDE64 - "External RAM is not intended for users! Please DO NOT change any information in External RAM!"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 12:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:23 am
Posts: 6
The Retro Replay is fitted with 32 kb of RAM, while the original Action Replay 6 only had 8 kb, which is used by the fast loader. Thus, we have at least 24 kb of untouched memory!

As far as I know, the Cyberpunx ROM only makes use of the whole RR RAM for the new splash screen function.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 7:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:43 am
Posts: 130
Location: Rethan Manor, Balmora, Hlaalu District
Here is the RAM usage for Graham's TFR ROM:

    $8000-$80FF and $9000-$9BFF++
This information comes straight from the man himself, so it should be accurate. What this means is that at least the following regions in the Retro Replay RAM are free when using The Final Replay:

    $0100-$0FFF
    $2000-$7FFF

Which is most of it. As to the actual upper boundary of the used RAM, Mr. Selck said it varies. The safest bet is to not go in the $9xxx addresses in the lowest RAM window. The 3 others are completely free!

_________________
Commodore 128 Programmer
City of Kouvola, Finland

http://mydarkgothvampiricplace.endofthe ... Commodore/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group