It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:52 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Contiki 2.1 on the C128
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:15 am
Posts: 83
Hi,

Today I was asked if a port to the C128 would be possible.

Oliver wrote:
This allows Contiki 2.x applications to be built for about every cc65 target.


This turned out to be as true as I had thought. It took me literally 5 minutes to get Contiki 2.1 built as native C128 program and running on VICE in C128 mode :-)

Again I have about no knowledge on CBMs but after reading the Wikipedia article on the C128 I understood that it might be desirable to switch to 80 column mode and switch then to 2MHz.

As the cc65 C-Library has already C-callable functions for doing so I added both on Contiki startup - and switching back to 1MHz and 40 column mode on Contiki exit. Works everything as expected on VICE - another 10 minutes :-)

But before making this an "offical" part of Contiki 2.x I'd like to understand about the Ethernet options in native C128 mode. Are the Ethernet chip ports mapped to the same addresses? Are they visible at all? Other things I can't even imagine?

Is there somebody capable and willing to test Contiki 2.x with the "right" Ethernet hardware on a C128 in native mode?

Thanks in advance for your input !

Best, Oliver


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:15 am
Posts: 83
MagerValp wrote:
The RR-Net registers are only visible after you write $01 to $de01, when connected to a Retro Replay. It's something else if you have an RR-Net connected to an MMC64, but I'm not sure what it is.

Okay I solved the riddle :-). Contiki 1.2 contains outside the CS8900A driver code which is shared between RR-Net and TFE (where I didn't expect it) this RR-Net specific sequence:

lda #1
ora $de01
sta $de01

@Devia: Thanks for the detailed description - although I didn't understand it yet after reading only three times...

Would it be acceptable by "this community" if I'd just add the sequence above - and thus bring back the same functionality/compatibility present in Contiki 1.2 ?

Best, Oliver


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 867
The RR-Net driver should be responsible for properly enabling the clockport IMHO. Problem is that the RR-Net driver also needs to know if the RR-Net sits on a Retro Replay, MMC64 or other device to initialize it properly. I guess a clean way would be to make a separate "meta driver" for all devices which is responsible for initialize the clockport and then make the RR-Net driver request initialization by the meta driver. Maybe it sounds like over doing it but I think it sounds more complicated than it really is ... :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
Oliver wrote:
Sorry but I don't even know what "kernal mode" and "dreamload plugin" means and how/if it relates to my previous statement about "disk command channels" :-(

The dreamload plugin for mmc64 which is lively discussed here offers the functionality to use the mmc64 as a regular diskdrive, I guess it does so by changing the vectors that point to the load routines etc. So software which only uses the kernal routines for disk access can run from mmc64 instead of disk.

I just tested running guruterm with the rr-net connected directly to the mmc64 and it works fine, and afaik guruterm uses uip so perhaps raveguru can offer some help with getting contiki to run with the different hardware setups?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:10 am
Posts: 26
Oliver wrote:
Is there somebody capable and willing to test Contiki 2.x with the "right" Ethernet hardware on a C128 in native mode?


Hi Oliver,

I'd love to test Contikit 2.x with my 128 and RR-Net (Retro-Replay & MMC).

With regards to my "other" NIC, it doesn't require or use a clockport so there's no need to write $01 to $de01.

Cheers
Fotios


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:15 am
Posts: 83
hollowman wrote:
The dreamload plugin for mmc64 which is lively discussed here offers the functionality to use the mmc64 as a regular diskdrive, I guess it does so by changing the vectors that point to the load routines etc. So software which only uses the kernal routines for disk access can run from mmc64 instead of disk.

I just tested running guruterm with the rr-net connected directly to the mmc64 and it works fine, and afaik guruterm uses uip so perhaps raveguru can offer some help with getting contiki to run with the different hardware setups?


Regarding MMC64 - Dreamload Plugin: Thanks for the hint and explanation. Now I kind of understand the question :-) but I have no idea how to find the answer. The only thing I know for sure is that Contiki 2.1 only uses the cc65 C-Library open/read/close calls to access the disk. This definitively needs someone else to get solved.

Regarding Clockport setup: Thanks for the hint. I'll try to understand that topic better...

Best, Oliver


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Brisbane Australia
Oliver wrote:
Hi,

Today I was asked if a port to the C128 would be possible.

Oliver wrote:
This allows Contiki 2.x applications to be built for about every cc65 target.


This turned out to be as true as I had thought. It took me literally 5 minutes to get Contiki 2.1 built as native C128 program and running on VICE in C128 mode :-)

Again I have about no knowledge on CBMs but after reading the Wikipedia article on the C128 I understood that it might be desirable to switch to 80 column mode and switch then to 2MHz.

As the cc65 C-Library has already C-callable functions for doing so I added both on Contiki startup - and switching back to 1MHz and 40 column mode on Contiki exit. Works everything as expected on VICE - another 10 minutes :-)

But before making this an "offical" part of Contiki 2.x I'd like to understand about the Ethernet options in native C128 mode. Are the Ethernet chip ports mapped to the same addresses? Are they visible at all? Other things I can't even imagine?

Is there somebody capable and willing to test Contiki 2.x with the "right" Ethernet hardware on a C128 in native mode?

Thanks in advance for your input !

Best, Oliver


It just keeps getting better.

Now to make it work. |-)

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Brisbane Australia
mangelore wrote:
Oliver wrote:
Is there somebody capable and willing to test Contiki 2.x with the "right" Ethernet hardware on a C128 in native mode?


Hi Oliver,

I'd love to test Contikit 2.x with my 128 and RR-Net (Retro-Replay & MMC).

With regards to my "other" NIC, it doesn't require or use a clockport so there's no need to write $01 to $de01.

Cheers
Fotios


Other NIC my heart just skipped a beat. :-)

Will it be a HAPPY XMAS ??

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:15 am
Posts: 83
zap wrote:
Now to make it work. |-)

Hopefully I did - at least for a "plain" RR+RR-Net combo ;-).

I just uploaded two images, one for the C64 and one for the C128 (native mode, 80 column, 2MHz).

It would be great if I could get feedback on both...

Good night, Oliver


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:10 am
Posts: 26
Oliver wrote:
Hopefully I did - at least for a "plain" RR+RR-Net combo ;-).

I just uploaded two images, one for the C64 and one for the C128 (native mode, 80 column, 2MHz).

It would be great if I could get feedback on both...

Good night, Oliver


Congratulations! The C64 version of Contiki 2.1 works fine with my RR+RR-Net combo.

Unfortunately, the C128 version does not. While it loads fine, the default web page times out. :(

Regards
Fotios


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 7:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Brisbane Australia
Great its working i am changing the default webpage now.

Check it out at http://www.c64web.com

It might go up and down as i change the web page.

Thanks Oliver :-)

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Last edited by zap on Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Brisbane Australia
mangelore wrote:
Oliver wrote:
Hopefully I did - at least for a "plain" RR+RR-Net combo ;-).

I just uploaded two images, one for the C64 and one for the C128 (native mode, 80 column, 2MHz).

It would be great if I could get feedback on both...

Good night, Oliver


Congratulations! The C64 version of Contiki 2.1 works fine with my RR+RR-Net combo.

Unfortunately, the C128 version does not. While it loads fine, the default web page times out. :(

Regards
Fotios


I have confirmed same not working a c128d with RetroReplay/RRNet.

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
zap wrote:
I have confirmed same not working a c128d with RetroReplay/RRNet.

Does your rr-net work with other software on your c128d? It doesnt on mine and I know that more people have the same problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Brisbane Australia
hollowman wrote:
zap wrote:
I have confirmed same not working a c128d with RetroReplay/RRNet.

Does your rr-net work with other software on your c128d? It doesnt on mine and I know that more people have the same problem.


No it does not for instance it would not run contiki v1.2 etc in c64 mode or 128 mode. :(

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 6:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 867
hollowman wrote:
I just tested running guruterm with the rr-net connected directly to the mmc64 and it works fine, and afaik guruterm uses uip so perhaps raveguru can offer some help with getting contiki to run with the different hardware setups?

I'm using the cs8900a driver from contiki 1.2 without any modifications IIRC, however I do detect and initialize the clockport first for RR and MMC64, kind of like Devia suggested but my code is much less sophisticated :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 84 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group