It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:21 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
A few local friends have 64NIC+s now, so I'm putting together a "getting started" disk for them.

What should I include? So far, I have:

-SETMAC
-WarpCopy64 0.6
-GuruTerm Beta1
-NetRacer 1.1
-Artillery Duel Network
-NIC-TEST 0.5
-SGR Browser 0.5 (but I've never gotten it to work)
-Breadbox64 (Twitter Client)

What else should I add?

I've been tempted to include the latest Contiki, but configuring it is tricky and I haven't been able to get it to work properly myself.

I can post it as a D64 once it's ready.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:55 pm
Posts: 79
Schema wrote:
-SGR Browser 0.5 (but I've never gotten it to work)


If you send me your MAC via PM, I'll send you a copy that will work. The problem is, once you load up a page, you can not link off of it. Find that kinda bogas. So you see the main google screen. Can't click images, can't input. It kinda' just eye candy. But you got to make sure that your network is set up that your C64 is good with 192.168.0.2 and that you have a DNS and all at 192.168.0.1. And you have to edit a file for every new MAC (which kinda' sucks).

I really use WarpCopy and GuruTerm Beta a lot. NetRacer would be good, too...

Does the SetMAC work on the 64NIC+? If so, I would include that with ShowMAC and NIC-TEST. Never tried Artillery Duel. Might want to include that after a test.


Are you burning them to a 5 1/4 inch disk are you talking about a way to put them on a ROM and use the Hex Switch to change the program?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
Just a 5 1/4" disk. None of these apps will work off the ROM without serious modification.

Here's a first cut.
http://www.jammingsignal.com/c64/networkapps.d64

I've kind of got SGR browser working now, I didn't realize the TEST2.HTML file was mandatory. Is it even possible to navigate to the other page?

I have a custom ipconfig-default file that sets an appropriate mac/ip for my network, and it seems to be reading it.


Last edited by Schema on Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Toronto, Canada
Sorry, missed this.
mistermsk wrote:
Does the SetMAC work on the 64NIC+?

Yes, the 64NIC+ is based on the CS8900 so it's RR-Net compatible, and all RR-Net (or TFE) apps will work with it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:55 pm
Posts: 79
Schema,

Thanks.

So this is what I would have a menu for.

Local 64NIC+ Utilities
-SETMAC
-Show MAC
-NIC-TEST 0.5

Network Games
-Artillery Duel Network
-NetRacer 1.1

Network Utilities
-WarpCopy64 0.6
-GuruTerm Beta1
-Breadbox64 (Twitter Client)


I would remove SGR Browser 0.5 since it does not support DHCP and you have to modify it before using it. The rest seems good to me.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:55 pm
Posts: 79
Schema wrote:
I've kind of got SGR browser working now, I didn't realize the TEST2.HTML file was mandatory. Is it even possible to navigate to the other page?


Not that I can tell. To me, if it can not do that, what real use is it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:55 pm
Posts: 79
This is the disk I quickly put together from the Network section of this site. I did not put any games, just utilities.


Attachments:
NetworkTools.zip [20.9 KiB]
Downloaded 579 times

_________________
Image
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:43 pm
Posts: 27
Location: frankfurt
i think the contiki2 irc client is really usable. (i dont know if the dns solution bug is fixed though. in my version i have to use a real ip adress)

masterhit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group