It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:04 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 10:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 845
Goes here....


Last edited by RaveGuru on Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hit Del for color mode!
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 10:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:26 pm
Posts: 72
Location: LittleDreamLand
Wow, this rocks!!! I tried 3 boards, and everything worked like a charm. Thanks for this great tool!

Just one little problem: my usual setup is RRNet connected to RR, which is plugged into the MMC64. Guruterm checked the empty port on the MMC, but not the RR clockport (RRNet on MMC is a little tricky as the ethernet cable and Monitor cable interfere).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 845
Doc Bacardi wrote:
Wow, this rocks!!! I tried 3 boards, and everything worked like a charm. Thanks for this great tool!


Cool! :D

Doc Bacardi wrote:
Just one little problem: my usual setup is RRNet connected to RR, which is plugged into the MMC64. Guruterm checked the empty port on the MMC, but not the RR clockport (RRNet on MMC is a little tricky as the ethernet cable and Monitor cable interfere).


Ah, true! I actually didn't think anyone used MMC64->RR->RRnet since I thought it has to be physically impractical, but I was wrong! :D

RR-net drivers are currently hardcoded for $dexx, but I'll change that in the future.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 5:08 pm
Posts: 26
RaveGuru wrote:
RR-net drivers are currently hardcoded for $dexx, but I'll change that in the future.


Wicked!!!

You should have called your app Dexx V1.00 b

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 9:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:13 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Hack'n'Trade
"Best c64 app 2006 award" to this one? :)

It was perfectly stable for me (using RR+RRnet on the LAN at home). DHCP worked, DNS worked... everything. No troubles at all.

Thumbs up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 1:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Toronto, Canada
Ran OK from my IDE64. Very nice!

One problem, maybe with my setup, is that DNS doesn't work for me. I just get "unknown host: xxxxx" for all of them. DHCP and dialing by IP works very well though. What can I do to debug the DNS?

For the future, I hope you will use MagerValp's suggested configuration file (see http://www.cling.gu.se/~cl3polof/ipconfig/ ) That way all network apps can go on the same disk (or IDE64 directory) and share a config, assuming DHCP is not used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 11:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 845
Schema wrote:
Ran OK from my IDE64. Very nice!

Cool! GuruTerm is very "system friendly" at the moment and does not mess with the RAM/ROM banks or system vectors. That may change in the future though :)


Schema wrote:
One problem, maybe with my setup, is that DNS doesn't work for me. I just get "unknown host: xxxxx" for all of them. DHCP and dialing by IP works very well though. What can I do to debug the DNS?

Ok, that's interesting. Are you on a LAN with a local DNS or connected directly to your ISP?


Schema wrote:
For the future, I hope you will use MagerValp's suggested configuration file (see http://www.cling.gu.se/~cl3polof/ipconfig/ ) That way all network apps can go on the same disk (or IDE64 directory) and share a config, assuming DHCP is not used.

Yes, I have plans on using it. I'm also thinking of ways to flash the configuration to the RR ROM for completely diskless operation. MMC64 compability would also be nice of course 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:13 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Hack'n'Trade
..but I forgot to say:

Trying to connect a couple of times to a board which was busy soon resulted in a "debug error" and required a RUNSTOP/RESTORE reset of the program to get going again.

Also, I can confirm ALIhs troubles with using GuruTerm together with Grahams TFR-ROM. Loading the program, typing KILL, and then RUN, works though. Just as ALIh said..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 7:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Toronto, Canada
RaveGuru wrote:
Ok, that's interesting. Are you on a LAN with a local DNS or connected directly to your ISP?

I have a LAN at home with a DHCP server built into my DSL router, but the DNS is at my ISP.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Toronto, Canada
Wow, what an alphabet soup that last post was :lol:

I sniffed the DNS request packets, once from my laptop using nslookup (which worked), and then again using GuruTerm from my C64 (didn't work). I posted the request packets below.

The only differences seem to be the fact that the UDP header seems to have no checksum from Guruterm, and the case of the query.

Also, GuruTerm blasts out 8 DNS query packets in 1.5 seconds, not sure if that's by design. I only show one of them here.

First of all, the packet that worked from my laptop (was followed by a DNS reply):

Code:
No.     Time        Source                Destination           Protocol Info
      6 3.998781    192.168.7.22          209.151.129.1         DNS      Standard query A www.rittwage.com

Frame 6 (76 bytes on wire, 76 bytes captured)
    Arrival Time: May  8, 2006 22:48:02.682975000
    Time delta from previous packet: 0.704340000 seconds
    Time since reference or first frame: 3.998781000 seconds
    Frame Number: 6
    Packet Length: 76 bytes
    Capture Length: 76 bytes
    Protocols in frame: eth:ip:udp:dns
Ethernet II, Src: 192.168.7.22 (00:05:1b:00:61:1d), Dst: 192.168.7.1 (00:30:eb:c6:3d:d3)
    Destination: 192.168.7.1 (00:30:eb:c6:3d:d3)
    Source: 192.168.7.22 (00:05:1b:00:61:1d)
    Type: IP (0x0800)
Internet Protocol, Src: 192.168.7.22 (192.168.7.22), Dst: 209.151.129.1 (209.151.129.1)
    Version: 4
    Header length: 20 bytes
    Differentiated Services Field: 0x00 (DSCP 0x00: Default; ECN: 0x00)
        0000 00.. = Differentiated Services Codepoint: Default (0x00)
        .... ..0. = ECN-Capable Transport (ECT): 0
        .... ...0 = ECN-CE: 0
    Total Length: 62
    Identification: 0x72d2 (29394)
    Flags: 0x00
        0... = Reserved bit: Not set
        .0.. = Don't fragment: Not set
        ..0. = More fragments: Not set
    Fragment offset: 0
    Time to live: 128
    Protocol: UDP (0x11)
    Header checksum: 0xad85 [correct]
        Good: True
        Bad : False
    Source: 192.168.7.22 (192.168.7.22)
    Destination: 209.151.129.1 (209.151.129.1)
User Datagram Protocol, Src Port: 1495 (1495), Dst Port: domain (53)
    Source port: 1495 (1495)
    Destination port: domain (53)
    Length: 42
    Checksum: 0xe60a [correct]
Domain Name System (query)
    Transaction ID: 0x0002
    Flags: 0x0100 (Standard query)
        0... .... .... .... = Response: Message is a query
        .000 0... .... .... = Opcode: Standard query (0)
        .... ..0. .... .... = Truncated: Message is not truncated
        .... ...1 .... .... = Recursion desired: Do query recursively
        .... .... .0.. .... = Z: reserved (0)
        .... .... ...0 .... = Non-authenticated data OK: Non-authenticated data is unacceptable
    Questions: 1
    Answer RRs: 0
    Authority RRs: 0
    Additional RRs: 0
    Queries
        www.rittwage.com: type A, class IN
            Name: www.rittwage.com
            Type: A (Host address)
            Class: IN (0x0001)

0000  00 30 eb c6 3d d3 00 05 1b 00 61 1d 08 00 45 00   .0..=.....a...E.
0010  00 3e 72 d2 00 00 80 11 ad 85 c0 a8 07 16 d1 97   .>r.............
0020  81 01 05 d7 00 35 00 2a e6 0a 00 02 01 00 00 01   .....5.*........
0030  00 00 00 00 00 00 03 77 77 77 08 72 69 74 74 77   .......www.rittw
0040  61 67 65 03 63 6f 6d 00 00 01 00 01               age.com.....



And one of the 8 packets from Guruterm, which didn't work (no reply)


Code:
No.     Time        Source                Destination           Protocol Info
      1 0.000000    192.168.7.21          209.151.129.1         DNS      Standard query A WWW.RITTWAGE.COM

Frame 1 (76 bytes on wire, 76 bytes captured)
    Arrival Time: May  8, 2006 22:49:51.037932000
    Time delta from previous packet: 0.000000000 seconds
    Time since reference or first frame: 0.000000000 seconds
    Frame Number: 1
    Packet Length: 76 bytes
    Capture Length: 76 bytes
    Protocols in frame: eth:ip:udp:dns
Ethernet II, Src: 192.168.7.21 (00:0c:64:03:13:37), Dst: 192.168.7.1 (00:30:eb:c6:3d:d3)
    Destination: 192.168.7.1 (00:30:eb:c6:3d:d3)
    Source: 192.168.7.21 (00:0c:64:03:13:37)
    Type: IP (0x0800)
Internet Protocol, Src: 192.168.7.21 (192.168.7.21), Dst: 209.151.129.1 (209.151.129.1)
    Version: 4
    Header length: 20 bytes
    Differentiated Services Field: 0x00 (DSCP 0x00: Default; ECN: 0x00)
        0000 00.. = Differentiated Services Codepoint: Default (0x00)
        .... ..0. = ECN-Capable Transport (ECT): 0
        .... ...0 = ECN-CE: 0
    Total Length: 62
    Identification: 0x001a (26)
    Flags: 0x00
        0... = Reserved bit: Not set
        .0.. = Don't fragment: Not set
        ..0. = More fragments: Not set
    Fragment offset: 0
    Time to live: 255
    Protocol: UDP (0x11)
    Header checksum: 0xa13e [correct]
        Good: True
        Bad : False
    Source: 192.168.7.21 (192.168.7.21)
    Destination: 209.151.129.1 (209.151.129.1)
User Datagram Protocol, Src Port: 1026 (1026), Dst Port: domain (53)
    Source port: 1026 (1026)
    Destination port: domain (53)
    Length: 42
    Checksum: 0x0000 (none)
Domain Name System (query)
    Transaction ID: 0x0001
    Flags: 0x0100 (Standard query)
        0... .... .... .... = Response: Message is a query
        .000 0... .... .... = Opcode: Standard query (0)
        .... ..0. .... .... = Truncated: Message is not truncated
        .... ...1 .... .... = Recursion desired: Do query recursively
        .... .... .0.. .... = Z: reserved (0)
        .... .... ...0 .... = Non-authenticated data OK: Non-authenticated data is unacceptable
    Questions: 1
    Answer RRs: 0
    Authority RRs: 0
    Additional RRs: 0
    Queries
        WWW.RITTWAGE.COM: type A, class IN
            Name: WWW.RITTWAGE.COM
            Type: A (Host address)
            Class: IN (0x0001)

0000  00 30 eb c6 3d d3 00 0c 64 03 13 37 08 00 45 00   .0..=...d..7..E.
0010  00 3e 00 1a 00 00 ff 11 a1 3e c0 a8 07 15 d1 97   .>.......>......
0020  81 01 04 02 00 35 00 2a 00 00 00 01 01 00 00 01   .....5.*........
0030  00 00 00 00 00 00 03 57 57 57 08 52 49 54 54 57   .......WWW.RITTW
0040  41 47 45 03 43 4f 4d 00 00 01 00 01               AGE.COM.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 11:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 845
Thanks for the dumps! Will take a deeper look into it soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 11:27 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 845
Frantic wrote:
Also, I can confirm ALIhs troubles with using GuruTerm together with Grahams TFR-ROM. Loading the program, typing KILL, and then RUN, works though. Just as ALIh said..


What TFR version are you using? Cause I've been using v0.6 myself during the development with no troubles at all. Also, what RR/RR-net revisions have you got?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 3:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Toronto, Canada
Did another test of GuruTerm, at a place where the DNS was local on the subnet (built into the gateway, at least according to the DHCP server). It worked fine! So it seems to me that the issue is that DNS doesn't work if it's not on the local subnet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 3:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 pm
Posts: 845
That's interesting. I will look into that! Thanks for reporting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:04 am
Posts: 116
Location: Germany / 88471
tried it yesterday with TFR 0.6 and i can't remember any problems.
cool app! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group