It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:31 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: addon card
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 346
Location: Brisbane Australia
i would like to see a mother cart for the rrnet just the clock port and whatevers needed to make it work arrange so the rrnet will fit in a cart with the rj45 port sticking out the back.....

i have a c64 webserver running 24/7 i have to use a retro replay or a mmc64 just to run the rrnet wonder if this would sell free up your retro replay/mmc64 cart for other duty,s..

Cheap just add rrnet

http://www.c64web.com checkit out

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
So has anyone gotten any wiser about the problem with mmc64 + rr-net ?
I fiddled around some more with contiki and got it running with the webserver from mmc64, however I still cant get it working when the rr-net is connected directly to the mmc64, only when the rr-net is connected to the retro replay which is connected to the mmc64.
And having that setup with a network cable connected isnt that tempting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
To my knowledge, there's no problem other than the same ol' timing related issues I've been rambling on about in various threads.

You do however need to be careful in setting the regs.. are you sure you're enabling the right clock-port?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
I checked contikis rr-net driver code and it uses $de00, so I set bit 3 of $df11 to 0. Guess I have to do some more research to see if anything contiki does might be the problem, just thought it was best to ask here first to see if theres any point in trying =)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
Well, you have to enable the mmc64 clock-port too.

I do it something like this:

Code:
EnableMMC64ClockPort:
    lda #%00001011  ; Map the port to $df20
    sta $df11
    lda #1          ; Enable the clock-port by setting the Accessory Connector
    sta $df21       ; - bit of $de01 - which is $df21 in this case
    lda #%00000011  ; Map the port back to $de00
    sta $df11


I'm unsure as to what you need to set the bits 0 and 1 of $df11 to in the Contiki case - or any of the other bits for that matter.

I always map the MMC64 Clock-Port to $df20 when I want to enable it.. I can't remember why ;-) ..but at some point I guess I figured that the $de01 write I was making did not go to the MMC64 as expected but to the RR.. or something.. In any case it doesn't hurt and this way you are 100% sure that you are enabling the MMC64 clock-port and not something else.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:03 pm
Posts: 44
Has anyone tried the new RR-net revision? The one that doesn't suit the RR, but more for the MMC64. Same problem? Or perhaps the problem is with the MMC64 itself?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
Although Jens used a different PAL for the new RR-Net, I seriously doubt that he made any logic changes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 346
Location: Brisbane Australia
tnt/beyond force wrote:
RaveGuru wrote:
Well..... at least you won't need to buy a new christmastree for christmas :)

We need more lights!


and bells dont forget the bells

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
Devia, thanks for the info, it didnt help but all code snippets are welcome :D

I'm getting even more confused by this, I tested a build of contiki 1.1 I downloaded from the net, in case I had screwed up something when compiling it, and it worked fine when I ran it from a 1541 and had the rr-net connected directly to the mmc64. Then I replaced contikis loaderroutines with dreamload and ran with the same setup, it still worked. Then I ran it from mmc64 and it stopped replying to pings, until I connected the rr-net through retro replay, then it started working again. :?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 203
Location: Denmark
That definately sounds like the "wrong" clock port being enabled.

If you post the source/bins someplace, I'd be happy to try it out and see if I can figure out what's going wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Kungsör, Sweden
http://sidchip.ath.cx/~hollowman/contiki11dreamload.zip
it contains the files contiki1541 and contikimmc which are identical except for the track and sector used for the directory track.
Startadress is $9000, where the init of dreamload is called. The loader is placed at $0400 and the sectorbuffer at $0600

the functions _c64_dio_asm_read_block, _c64_dio_asm_write_block, _c64_dio_asm_init in contiki have been patched, and sprites 1 and 2 are used instead of 0 and 1 to avoid the spritebug of the mmc


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:30 pm
Posts: 346
Location: Brisbane Australia
hollowman wrote:
http://sidchip.ath.cx/~hollowman/contiki11dreamload.zip
it contains the files contiki1541 and contikimmc which are identical except for the track and sector used for the directory track.
Startadress is $9000, where the init of dreamload is called. The loader is placed at $0400 and the sectorbuffer at $0600

the functions _c64_dio_asm_read_block, _c64_dio_asm_write_block, _c64_dio_asm_init in contiki have been patched, and sprites 1 and 2 are used instead of 0 and 1 to avoid the spritebug of the mmc


Can you get contiki to write to the .d64 file or is it read only.
Have you got the mmc to work without the RetroReplay card connected yet.

I tried with my MMC/RRnet card using your contiki and replaced the config.prg with my settings and it will not work.
When i run the webserver.prg everything seems fine but the webserver does not respond and you cant ping it.
Wonder if the settings are getting to the RRNet card. ?

_________________
Commodore 8bit Web Services http://cbm8bit.com
Try our new browser driven disk image editor.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group